8. Local democracy in UK context

11/02/2014: Local democracy in UK context (1030 – 1230)

Taking part in this session:


Cllr Sir Merrick Cockell (LGA Chairman)

Cllr David Sparks (Labour Group Leader)

Cllr Marianne Overton. (Independent Group Leader)

Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson (Lib Dem Group Leader)

Michael Coughlin (LGA Executive Director)

Ian Hughes (Head of Programmes)

Welsh LGA (by video)

Steve Thomas – Chief Executive

Chris Llewelyn – Deputy Chief Executive & Director of Lifelong Learning

Jon Rae – Director of Resource

Northern Ireland LGA

Ald Arnold Hatch, President (UUP)

Cllr Dermot Curran, Vice-President (SDLP)

Ald Tom Ekin, Vice-President (Alliance)

Mr Derek McCallan, Chief Executive